Skip to main content.

Podcast: Growing a Flag Football Program with Falcons Coach of the Week Emily Hoza

Emily Hoza loves building the Roswell High School girls flag football program.

The Ohio native started the program in 2020. The Hornets qualified for the postseason in the program's first year in 2021, and it looks like the team will return to the playoffs this year.

Hoza’s hard work has been rewarded by the Atlanta Falcons, who recently named her as their Week 9 High School Coach of the Week. As part of the Coach of the Week program, presented by The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, the NFL and the Atlanta Falcons present each winning head coach with a $1,000 grant for their football program, a commemorative Atlanta Falcons item, and recognition from the Atlanta Falcons and AJC at a game this season. 

Listen to Coach Hoza talk with High School Football America's Jeff Fisher about the keys to growing the program and how the Falcons are supporting girls flag football in Georgia.

Below are the Week 9 Coach of the Week winners for every NFL club.





Baltimore Ravens

Eric Siegel

Bel Air HS

Buffalo Bills - Rochester Region

Isaiah Young


Buffalo Bills - Buffalo Region

David Skrip

Albion HS

Cleveland Browns

Jay Rohr

Jackson HS

Denver Broncos

Kyle Forster

Centauri HS

Houston Texans

Johnathan Wilson

Klein Forest HS

Indianapolis Colts

Brett Fox

Columbia City HS

Jacksonville Jaguars

Darrell Sutherland

Bartram Trail HS

Kansas City Chiefs - Kansas

Kevin Stewart

Lawrence Free State HS

Kansas City Chiefs - Missouri

Steve Cook

Lafayette County HS

Las Vegas Raiders

Garrett Hughes

Reed HS

Los Angeles Chargers - LA County

Lorenzo Hernandez

Garfield HS

Los Angeles Chargers - Orange County

John Lester

Laguna Hills HS

Los Angeles Chargers - San Diego County

Jon Goodman

Escondido Charter HS

Miami Dolphins

Roger Harriott

St. Thomas Aquinas HS

New England Patriots

Peter Colombo

Brockton HS

New York Jets

Harold Clark

Teaneck HS

Pittsburgh Steelers

John Skiba

Apollo-Ridge HS

Tennessee Titans

Lance Tucker

Bartlett HS






Arizona Cardinals

Anthony Johns

Heritage Academy Laveen

Atlanta Falcons

Emily Hoza

Atlanta Falcons

Chicago Bears

Fabray Collins

Englewood STEM HS

Dallas Cowboys

JJ Resendez

Crowley HS

Detroit Lions

Ed Schindler

Frankfort HS

Green Bay Packers

Trent Nyhus

Turtle Lake HS

Los Angeles Rams

Stafon Johnson

Dorsey HS

Minnesota Vikings

Steve Hamilton

Elk River HS

New Orleans Saints

Frank Daggs

 McDonogh 35 HS

New York Giants

Will Nahan

Randolph HS

Philadelphia Eagles

Rick Prete

Roman Catholic HS

San Francisco 49ers

Paul Perenon

Mt. Eden HS

Seattle Seahawks - 3A/4A

Matt Johnson

Southridge HS

Seattle Seahawks - 2B/B/A/2A

Patrick Mitchell

Ephrata HS

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Reggie Crume

Calvary Christian HS

Washington Commanders

Zach Barnisky

Freedom HS

Featured photo: Roswell High School via Twitter.


  • NFL FLAG Football
  • Clubs and Partners
  • Coaching