Skip to main content.

Chiefs Honor Kelly Donohoe of Rockhurst High School as Coach of the Week

Rockhurst (Missouri) High School head coach Kelly Donohoe, who led his team to one of the biggest comeback wins of the season, has been recognized as one of the Kansas City Chiefs' High School Coaches of the Week.

Against St. Thomas Aquinas (Kansas), Rockhurst trailed 28-0 in the third quarter and 38-15 midway through the fourth quarter. The Hawklets then scored the final 23 points in regulation to send the game to overtime tied at 38-all.

Rockhurst scored first in overtime and then blocked an extra point try to give to give the Hawklets a 45-44 victory.

"We're very honored to be picked by the Chiefs as the Coach of the Week," said Donohoe. "The Chiefs have always done a great job of being very involved in high school athletics, and we are all very appreciative."

Rockhurst is currently ranked No. 6 in Missouri by High School Football America.

Related: See the High School Football America national rankings, powered by NFL Play Football 

The Chiefs other Week 5 honoree is Kevin Stewart of Lawrence Free State High School in Kansas. Coach Stewart was saluted for his team’s 5-0 start.

"I want to thank the Kansas City Chiefs organization, which works tirelessly to make high school football a success," Stewart said. "This is such a great honor because success in football takes a team effort. Our assistant coaches and players have put in countless hours and have made a commitment to being the best team they can be. I'm very proud of them all and grateful for their efforts. Without them I wouldn't be receiving this honor. Go Firebirds! Go Chiefs!"

Each school receive a $500 grant from the Hunt Family Foundation. Additionally, the coaches will be presented a pair of sunglasses, courtesy of Oakley, a congratulatory commemorative Super Bowl LVII coin and a certificate recognizing their selection.

The two coaches are now qualified for the Eric Driskell Coach of the Year Award, which will be voted on later this fall. The Eric Driskell Coach of the Year Award is selected by a panel comprised of the Missouri and Kansas Boards from the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association.

See the rest of the Coaches of the Week from around the NFL. 


NFL Team

Coach of the Week


Baltimore Ravens

Sean Markley

Forest Park HS

Buffalo Bills - Rochester Region

Geoff Mandile

Victor Centeal HS

Buffalo Bills - Buffalo Region

Marcus Rivers

Lackawanna HS

Cleveland Browns

Nate Moore

Massillon Washington HS

Indianapolis Colts

Levi Salters

Vincennes Lincoln HS

Jacksonville Jaguars

Rocky Hidalgo

Glynn Academy

Kansas City Chiefs - Kansas

Kevin Stewart

Lawrence Free State HS

Kansas City Chiefs - Missouri

Kelly Donohoe

Rockhurst HS

Las Vegas Raiders

Travis Foster

Shadow Ridge HS

New England Patriots

Ben Shuffain

Carver Middle School

New York Jets

Jay Graber

Matawan HS

Pittsburgh Steelers

Tanner Garry

Fort Cherry HS

Tennessee Titans

Gene Robinson

Germantown HS



NFL Team

Coach of the Week


Atlanta Falcons

Erica Harris

Chamblee HS - Girls Flag

Carolina Panthers

Sam Greiner

West Charlotte HS

Green Bay Packers

Rob Nelles

Cambridge HS

Los Angeles Rams

Michael Moon

Pacifica HS

Minnesota Vikings

Ben Halder

Byron HS

New Orleans Saints

Scott Wattigny

Holy Cross HS

New York Giants

Alex Vega

John F. Kennedy HS

Philadelphia Eagles

Mike Ciotti

Bristol HS

Seattle Seahawks - B/2B or A/2A

Shane Wright

Darrington HS

Seattle Seahawks -3A or 4A

Matthew Vaeena

Decatur HS

Washington Commanders

Jack Baker

Nelson Count HS



  • High School Football
  • Clubs and Partners
  • Coaching